AITSL welcomes new directors - Education Matters Magazine
Latest News

AITSL welcomes new directors

The appointment of five new Directors to the Board of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) will help drive the organisation’s focus on supporting and promoting high quality teaching and school leadership, according to AITSL Chair Laureate, Professor John Hattie (pictured above).

“I’d like to acknowledge the astute directorship of AITSL for promoting excellence and supporting teachers and leaders to have the maximum in-school impact on student learning,” Prof Hattie said.

“We are fortunate to have had Directors who exercise their duties and obligations with the utmost care and diligence. Our Directorship is wise, passionate and expert and this serves us well.

“Colleagues Prof Tania Aspland, Stephen Elder OAM, Trevor Fletcher, Dr Geoffrey Newcombe AM and Ms Melanie Saba have served with distinction and helped progress much-needed reforms,” Prof Hattie added, as he welcomed new directors Beth Blackwood, Renez Lammon, Dr Peter Lind, Mark Mowbray and Prof Donna Pendergast.

“It will be a pleasure to work closely with all the new Directors, including those who are School Principals or certified as highly accomplished teachers, because AITSL’s focus will always remain on the students we are ultimately here to serve.”

The newly appointed Directors will join Chair Prof Hattie and Deputy Chair Chris Wardlaw PSM; along with Directors Dr Jennifer Buckingham, Mr Tony Cook PSM and Mr Rob Nairn, who were reappointed for another term.