More schools in NSW receive support to recruit teachers - Education Matters Magazine
Department of Education, Latest News, Policy and Reform

More schools in NSW receive support to recruit teachers

The NSW Government is continuing to address the teacher shortage across NSW with a program helping schools recruit teachers in hard-to-staff areas to expand by 40 per cent.

A further 26 regional schools will now receive additional support to engage quality teachers, ensuring free, quality public education is provided to every student in NSW.

The Priority Recruitment Support program gives intensive recruitment assistance to schools with significant teacher staffing challenges.

The latest additions to the program bring the total number of schools receiving intensive support to 111.

Long-standing vacancies at these schools can now be advertised with a recruitment bonus of up to $20,000, and a relocation support package of up to $8,000 for eligible teachers.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Education and Early Learning Prue Car said the government is committed to providing teachers where they are needed the most to ensure every student has the same educational opportunities, no matter where they live.

“Having a qualified teacher in front of every class is key to lifting student outcomes, and we are working hard to attract and retain teachers in areas where the teacher shortage is most acute,” she said.

The program’s success is evident with 615 teachers placed in permanent positions in the past 12 months. Dubbo College alone has had 61 vacant positions filled across its three campuses while on the program.

The expansion of the program is one part of the Rural and Remote Education Implementation Plan that supports teachers wanting to teach outside major metropolitan areas.

Further to the recruitment support, the NSW Government is also offering tailored housing support to teachers in regional areas, cutting red tape for applicants and addressing maintenance issues faster.

Other incentives to work in NSW rural and remote schools include:

  • 50 to 90 per cent rental subsidy
  • rural teacher Incentive (up to $30,000 per annum less value of Rental Subsidy, where applicable)
  • retention bonus ($5,000 per annum for up to 10 years)
  • experienced teacher Benefit ($10,000 per annum for up to five years)
  • stamp duty relief payment (a one-off payment up to $10,000).

An additional 11 metropolitan schools will also benefit from recruitment support under the program’s expansion.

Regional, rural and remote schools added to the program:

Bega High School
Bowral High School
Braidwood Central School
Casino High School
Cobar High School
Cootamundra High School
Deniliquin High School
Dubbo South Public School
Glen Innes High School
Goulburn High School
James Fallon High School
Jindabyne High School
Kooringal High School
Leeton High School
Macintyre High School
Merriwa Central School
Mount Austin High School
Narrandera High School
Orara High School
Oxley High School
Picton High School
Uralla Central School
Wellington High School
West Wyalong High School
Yawarra Community School
Young High School

More reading: Unique pathway into teaching expands into NSW

Send this to a friend