STEM awards finalists revealed
Latest News, Technology

STEM awards finalists revealed

STEM program in QLD primary schools

Ten schools in Western Australia have been celebrated for their excellence in STEM education, with finalists revealed for the state’s 2018 Governor’s School STEM Awards.

Now in their fourth year, the awards celebrate schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, engagement and achievements in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education.

The awards promote the importance of STEM education in schools to develop talent, skills and a strong culture of STEM in the community to support the jobs of the future.

“The Governor’s School STEM Awards are a fantastic way to acknowledge the outstanding work our schools do to provide successful STEM learning environments for our students,” said Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery.

“We know the generic skills students learn studying STEM subjects are transferrable across industries, and critical for their future job prospects.”

The finalists include a mix of regional and metropolitan schools, and government and non-government schools.

Judges will visit the school finalists during October, with winners announced at an awards ceremony at Government House on 26 November 2018.

The awards form part of the Western Australian Government’s commitment to promoting and enhancing STEM education to prepare the state’s students for the jobs of the future.

“It is important to recognise the commitment and engagement of principals and teachers in developing the skills our kids will require for the jobs of the future,” said WA Science Minister Dave Kelly.

Other initiatives include $17 million for science programs in up to 200 public primary schools, making coding part of the school curriculum, more than $3.3 million in new funding to kickstart WA’s STEM skills strategy and drive WA’s future jobs, and school science grants.


Primary school category:
• Bertram Primary School (Bertram)
• Brookman Primary School (Langford)
• Marmion Primary School (Marmion)
• Ocean Road Primary School (Dawesville)
• Perth College (Mount Lawley)
• Vasse Primary School (Vasse)

Secondary school category finalists are:
• Ashdale Secondary College (Darch)
• Comet Bay College (Secret Harbour)
• St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ School (Karrinyup)
• Warwick Senior High School (Warwick)

Send this to a friend