Western Australia STEM finalists revealed - Education Matters Magazine
Latest News

Western Australia STEM finalists revealed

Western Australia school STEM awards

Seven schools from Western Australia have been revealed as finalists for the state’s Governor’s School STEM Awards.

Now in its fifth year, the Governor’s School STEM Awards aim to recognise excellence in delivering an innovative, engaging and whole-of-school approach to Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM) education.

“The finalists in this year’s awards show that STEM learning does not need to be limited to a single class subject; teaching students to be inquisitive, critical thinkers and problem solvers occurs in a range of settings,” said Western Australia Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery.

“Inspired principals and talented teachers play a vital role in getting students excited about STEM subjects, and I thank educators across the state who are delivering innovative programs for WA students.”

Finalists for 2019 are three primary schools (including two from the Pilbara) and four secondary schools.

Primary school finalists:

  • Baynton West Primary School (Baynton – near Karratha)
  • Brookman Primary School (Langford)
  • Pannawonica Primary School (Pannawonica)

Secondary school finalists:

  • Cecil Andrews College (Seville Grove)
  • Hale School (Wembley Downs)
  • Melville Senior High School (Melville)
  • Presbyterian Ladies’ College (Peppermint Grove)

These schools were chosen after successfully integrating a whole-of-school STEM culture across the curriculum, providing students with opportunities to engage with technology and develop a range of problem solving and analytical skills.

“The Governor’s School STEM Awards celebrate shining stars in our state, particularly schools that are taking innovative steps to integrate STEM learning across their curriculum,” said Western Australia Science Minister Dave Kelly. “It’s fantastic to see regional schools announced as finalists for delivering quality STEM education.”

Judges will visit finalists in term 4 before deciding which schools will be named the winners. In November, representatives from the finalist schools will be invited to an awards ceremony at Government House where the winners will be announced.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s finalists in the Governor’s School STEM Awards,” said the Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia. “I am proud to support these awards which celebrate excellence among school leadership teams in delivering outcomes critical to next generational industry development.”

The Governor’s School STEM Awards are part of the Western Australian Government’s STEM Skills Strategy Future Jobs, Future Skills.

Send this to a friend